Coal is a non-renewable energy source that represents 30% of our total generating capacity. The federal government states that all coal-fired units built before 1975 must close by 2020, and units built after 1975 will close by 2030, unless they have Carbon Capture and Storage technology (CCS).

We have three facilities in Saskatchewan that use coal to generate electricity. Boundary Dam and Shand Power Stations are both near Estevan, SK, and Poplar River Power Station is located near Coronach, SK.


Where We Use Coal

Learn more about Our Electrical System.

How It Works

See how we use coal to generate electricity.

Evaluating the Options

Our supply option ratings are based on expertise, research and experience. Having a balanced mix of generation options is crucial for our province’s future growth.

Express Yourself

This page makes me feel: