E.B. Campbell Hydroelectric Station


Commissioned: 1963
Location: Nipawin, SK
Fuel source: Hydro
Net capacity: 289 MW

  • More facts

    • Named in honour of E.B (Bruce) Campbell, a former SaskPower president, who was the assistant chief engineer during the construction of the station.
    • Located on the Saskatchewan River near Nipawin.
    • Eight units in total with a combined generating capacity of 289 MW.
    • The first six units were commissioned in 1963/1964.
    • The final two units were commissioned in 1966.

Hydroelectric Stations

Hydroelectricity is created by falling water. 138 Water from reservoirs flows through the penstocks that connect the reservoir to the station. The water turns a hydraulic turbine, which rotates a generator and produces electricity

  • Learn more

    Once the water has been through the turbine, it is directed into the exit, called a tailrace. The water is then returned to the river below the dam where it continues downstream toward its natural destination.

    By holding water in the reservoir, the potential for immediate electricity is stored. Excess water from heavy rains or spring run-off can be released from the reservoir through spillway gates, if required.

Express Yourself

This page makes me feel: